Curiouser and curiouser…

I know I have a bad track record as far as pets go, in that they’ve all been totally insane. There was Cracker, my rabbit, who was the most hyperactive rabbit you ever did see (and yet her sister, who belonged to my sister, was a docile, timid wee thing), running into walls at high speeds, eating soil, doing back-flips etc. Then there was Penny, my dog, named after Penny Lane but soon christened Mad Penny by McBouncy and McLovely, who had never before seen a dog chase its own tail with such determined single-mindedness for an entire hour. As for Kat the Cat – well – you know.

It’s made me very tolerant and open-minded, where other people and their pets are concerned. I actually like awesome pet products, almost more than gadgets for me. When I moved into this estate, for example, I was taken by a group of children to meet one young lad’s ‘family’ of pets. These included 4 dogs, 13 puppies, 6 cats, 2 rabbits, 5 snakes, and a partridge in a pear tree. I didn’t bat an eyelid. I waded through a sea of puppies, gently shaking a cat off my arm, to watch some snakes eating frozen rats. I even allowed something I strongly suspect was a python to drape itself slitherily around my neck.

I can even cope with McBouncy’s neighbour’s small boy, who once introduced me to his new friend in a little glass container. It was a snail. Possibly even a dead snail. Called Gary.

When I was at a church BBQ today, however, and saw this cage in the host’s garden, I was rendered speechless.

cage.jpg

Never before have I seen anyone with a pet egg. In a cage. With a perch.

(NB – People did try to explain to me what it really was, but the explanation sounded even more ludicrous than the idea that somone would have a pet egg, so I’m sticking with my first impressions.)

3 thoughts on “Curiouser and curiouser…

  1. Scully says:

    OK, seriously – this made me laugh till I cried, but I’m dying to know – what is it really for?? I can think of absolutely no purpose for this.
    Loving your blog by the way, only just discovered it!

Leave a Reply

