Happy Hails

Hooray! Coffee Helps has received an award. I’m irrationally excited, given that there’s no money, fame or glitzy awards ceremony involved, but let me milk it. It’s my only chance – I mean, it’s not like I’m going to get Employee Of The Month or anything.

So, it seems (to this newbie) that blog awards are sort of passed around the blogosphere from blogger to blogger. Blog… blog… hmm. The word has lost all meaning. The smart ‘n’ sassy K8 The Gr8 has sent one my way, all the while saying nice things. I love her. And now it’s my turn to decide who deserves this cute little thing:

breakoutbloggeraward.png

“This award casts a spotlight on bloggers who are just beginning to draw lots of attention — the equivalent of a song with a bullet on Billboard’s Top 100 chart. Lots of good posts. Lots of good buzz. These bloggers are going places in a hurry.”

Two of the three I’d have picked have already won it. First, there’s K8, who writes in a very tongue-in-cheek manner about the sort of things you tend to think about and then wonder if maybe you’re slightly mad for thinking about them. Next, there’s Foreigner By Default, whose writing truly amazes me because it’s witty, snappy, original – and not even in her first language! However, she, too, has already been acknowledged. Which means my one winner is…. dum-dum-DAAAA… English Mum In Ireland. I hope this doesn’t offend her, given that she’s been blogging for far longer than I have, and her blog is probably much more widely-read than mine is, but she’s new to me and that’s what counts, right?! Her personal diary style is a bit addictive, to be honest, and there’s always something to think about or laugh at. Go and say hi – you’ll like her!

I’ll write a proper post later, I promise. Humour me. My blog is my baby (sorry, Kat).

4 thoughts on “Happy Hails

  1. Thanks for kind words, Hails. :)

    You definitely deserve the award. Keep going strong!

    I have no idea who or when has acknowledged me but I am FAR from “breaking out” still. :D

    It’s just good fun.

  2. Joey says:

    Aww, you deserve a bit of credit for this blog, Hails! It’s the first thing I go to when I switch on the computer. Keep at it, and you’ll be a published writer within a few years. And when you are, remember I predicted it, and dedicate the book to me. Or better still give me a cut of the millions you make… :)

  3. I held a small celebration in your honour as I guzzled my first coffee of the day this morning and thought of you.

    Then I cursed you an hour later when I was dying to pee and had to grovel to a customer who’s windows I was cleaning for a loan of their bog! I never understand why people begrudge me the use of their facilities when I could just as easily pee behind one of their bushes in full view of their neighbours.

Leave a Reply

