Fevery Thoughts

You see, this is what happens when you sleep all day. You find yourself awake in the middle of the night, googling your own name and looking up recipes for homemade ‘flu remedies.

If I go to sleep, will I dream about more traumatic and distressing things?

If I stay awake, will I ever be able to get up for work in the morning?

My ears are making a weird buzzing sound. I don’t mean that they’re going ‘buzzzzzzzzz’ in a manner that other people would be able to hear them (that would be weird), I mean in a more internal way. Buzzzzzzzzzzzzz, they’re going, internally. Buzzzzzzzzzzz.

It’s foggy outside. Cold and dark and wet and foggy. Kind of spooky. If there was a Mysterious Creature prowling around the estate looking for sick people to eat, this is definitely the sort of night he would choose to appear. You can almost hear the orchestral horror movie soundtrack when you look outside.

Buzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Did I lock the door?

It’s very cold, but I’m trying to make the heating oil last till Christmas so that I can buy more with any money I receive from relatives, so I try not to switch the heating on when I’m here by myself. I’m in bed with a dressing gown and a furry, purry cat. I would also have my hot water bottle, but the lid is missing, and I feel it wouldn’t work just as well without the lid.

I’ve just realised I can still say the entire alphabet in French.

Buzzzzzzzzzz.

Fever is a little like being drunk, only with a sore throat and buzzy ears as well.

4 thoughts on “Fevery Thoughts

  1. Billy says:

    Ah, Bay, Say, Day, Eu, Ef, Jay, Ash, Ee, Ghee, Ka, L, M, N, O, Pay, Cu, Air, S, Tay, Oo, Vay, Doublavay, Eeks, E-grek, Zed.

    Look! I can still say the alphabet in French, too! Haha.

Leave a Reply

