How These Days Grow Long

I’ve been working a 9-5 day for nearly four and a half years. When you stop that, you become suddenly disorientated. As a result, I have developed some extremely odd sleep patterns, and I’m pretty much at the point where day is night and night is day. It’s most unsettling.

I’ve just found the following, slightly alarming piece in my WordPress draft posts folder. I have no recollection of writing it. This, in itself, scares me, never mind the subject matter.

5am.
 
This is the depressing point, as far as daft sleep patterns go.
 
The point at which you know you should be asleep. When you’ve been attempting to do so for well over two hours. When birds are starting to chirp outside. When you’re too awake to sleep but too asleep to wake. When you start to think about things that worry and scare you much more than they ever would if it was the middle of the day and the sun was shining. When you regress to your childhood for no obvious reason, and find yourself humming the theme tune from The Sooty Show. When you feel you should do something constructive, since you’re awake anyway, but all you can do is wish you were asleep. When noises outside start to sound like they’re downstairs, and you take a nervous walk around the house, flipping on light switches and pretending to be tough for the benefit of the intruders who are not, as you first suspected, lurking behind every door. When you start to count down the minutes until you have to get up, and realise that you’re never, ever again in your life going to feel rested and energetic unless it’s 2am. When even the cat looks at you in some annoyance and clearly wishes that you’d just settle yourself and go to sleep.
 
This is the point at which the Night Madness sets in. Everything is upside down and back-to-front. Nothing makes sense anymore.
 
And I’m going to be awake forever.
7 thoughts on “How These Days Grow Long

  1. E1 says:

    In anticipation for your forthcoming adventure and the fact that you are all the way across the pitch now, I think the title of your blog is most appropriate…

    It’s not fair for me to be this far from you
    How I miss you….
    And I’m gonna love you till my dying day
    How these days grow long
    Time keeps burning on
    How these days grow long

  2. Hails, I know your problem.
    You are suffering from Grannymaritis!
    I am awake most of the night and go to sleep at 7am

    When does the adventure start? I have Starbucks vouchers in my pocket!

  3. Billy – It’s polite to *offer* it, not just point out the fact that I need it!
    Grannymar – I leave on May 11th. Do you need me to help you use those up or are you intending to make up for the dip in Starbucks sales that my departure will no doubt cause?!

  4. The Sister says:

    Tis not only the Kat who is distured by this…..go to sleep….she is also refusing chocolate…!!! What’s going on???!!

Leave a Reply

