I’ve been awake since 4…

… which is a little unusual, given that I’ve not actually made it to bed until that time on several occasions of late.

This is my last blog post from Norn Iron. All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go, etc. etc. Except that they’re not, and I’m not, but sure. It’ll all come together any time now, I expect. Last night’s rather feeble attempt at sleep suggests that I’m going to be extremely tired for the next few days, but I’m already on my second cup of coffee of the day and it’s only 6.30am. No doubt the caffeine, suitably backed up by a large dose of adrenaline, will carry me through to my first destination.

Speaking of which. It feels decidedly strange to be heading off to a country I know next to nothing about. In fact, the only thing that sprung to mind when it was mentioned to me was “Eurovison Song Contest”. However, I feel that this is the way forward – leap into the unknown, visit all sorts of foreign places, and discover what’s out there beyond Ballymena. I am no longer afraid of “the unknown”. Well, actually, that’s a barefaced  lie – I’m utterly terrified. But in a delicious, excited, raring-to-go sort of way. Bring it on!

And so, the next time you hear from me will be when I become sufficiently awake to blog from Mystery Destination #1, following a ghastly middle-of-the-night flight involving a 2-hour jump forward in time. Much as I’d love to confuse you all by posting in the local language, I don’t think that’s likely to happen, as it is not one I’m at all familiar with. My passion for learning new languages means that I do, however, have my phrase book, so you can look forward to reading about enthusastic but terrible attempts to talk to the natives, resulting in me purchasing a small patch of land and several cows, when all I really wanted was a burger. It’ll be fun!

And I suspect that as long as I can say Ma vajan kohvi, everything will be just fine.

15 thoughts on “I’ve been awake since 4…

  1. Ah, the mind numbing terror before stepping into the unknown…

    Good luck, and enjoy it. Plz to remember to keep us all informed.

  2. Travel safely and with my best wishes.

    Oh! I feel the butterflies and I am back on that far off day at the beginning of the 70’s when I left home for Germany. Thanks for the reminder. xoxox

  3. The Sister says:

    Sniff sniff…i’ll miss my housemate :(

    But suspect you could be seeing me in the near future hehe ;P

    PS. Does anyone want a cat…??? She’s very polite and provides hours of entertainment with her fabulous wit and charm!!

  4. I saw you today (flip was it today??mmm i may be losing it) anyway i waved as you were flying past in a car………………you are leaving, that is mad.
    i was talking to 2 fans of yours in Caffe Nero yesterday, twas weird cuz they know (kinda) you but they didnt realize that your wrote coffee helps! HAHA Karen & Sarah who did some precept stuff in Hillside, they know Neil & Catherine!
    I was like “she is a very talented writing genuis and im insanely jealous of her” :)
    I trust the traveling will be advantageous & adventurous at every turn, look forward to new blogging horizons and great writing (please mention my blog when you are famous :))

  5. K8 says:

    So you’re on a plane heading towards new adventures right now? So not jealous.

    May the wind always be at your back, kiddo. Best of luck :) xxx

  6. Maureen says:

    Because I can’t figure the way to attach the cartoon, I’ll just give you the link.

    Have a fantastic journey!

  7. Becs says:

    You are probably on your 100th cup of coffee by now round the Fair City. Cant wait to read your first foreign blog post. Hugs and love always xxx

  8. Have an absolute blast! And if my 2 brother-in-laws are anything to go by…once that travel bug bites you will be roaming for a while!!! Look forward to reading all the new material!!!

Leave a Reply

