Move over, Bryson

Woohoo! I got my first travel writing job!

I was about to give up entirely on freelance writing, having become Extremely Fed Up with doing endless reviews of YouTube videos about yoga, raw food, and Deepak Chopra, for one dollar a time. There’s a McDonald’s in Tallinn. There are Irish bars in France. You know, there will always be exciting career opportunities wherever I go.

But now I have work, writing for a travel website, and am spared the pain of learning to say ‘regular or large?’ in multiple European languages.

As I am a strugging and unknown beginner, I have to bid for my work, and must always ensure that my bid will be the lowest. This is fine. It will pay off eventually. Who cares if the pay isn’t great, when you’re travelling the world and getting paid to write about it? That’s the dream, my friends.

Except, erm… they’re not actually sending me to exotic locations so much as giving me a list of destinations and telling me to use ‘research and imagination’.

Still. You have to start somewhere. And let’s not forget that I started with one-dollar YouTube reviews.

12 thoughts on “Move over, Bryson

  1. The Sister says:

    Wooohooo!!! Thought i’d join in on the enthusiastic hooting lol!

    No seriously Happy Days!!
    :)
    You’ve gota start somewhere…that was the You Tube reviews…can only get better!

  2. Thank you, lovely people! It’s a start. I’m giving myself one year to get into print. Then I’m going to have to do smething to increase awareness. Some sort of publicity stunt. Yes.

    It will be spectacular.

  3. my first visit to your site and I like it. Good luck with the travel writing. And keep blogging – something will come along for good bloggers, perhaps not all that far away either.
    cheers SallyE

  4. My first visit to your site and I like it.
    Good luck with the travel writing. And keep on with the blogging – something will come along for good bloggers, perhaps not all that far away either.
    cheers SallyE

  5. Hey I said that twice by accident! I didnt think it went through. And I am a bit bushed after an all day event, after which was a ceilidh, after which I came home and wrote blog on it, to unwind. Read ya another time
    SallyE

Leave a Reply

