What a difference a day makes.

Would it cheer up all you grumbling Ballymenites who moaned about the Irish weather following my previous post (“That’s one way to alienate your readers,” commented Riho, “write posts complaining about sunburn when they’re all stuck in the rain.”) if I told you that we’re all in the same (waterlogged) boat now?

Yes, today it rained. I worked at the same window, but was warmed only by yesterday’s glowing sunburn. Which, incidentally, wasn’t too bad until I forgot about it when I was vigorously drying my back after my morning shower. Again, ouch. Anyway, I worked, it rained. I finished work, it rained.

That scuppered the plans to go out and see the Victory Day/St. John’s Day party and bonfire, which made me sad because I’d heard they like to jump over the bonfire and burn witches and all sorts of fun stuff like that. However, this is Tallinn, and there’s always something entertaining going on. Sometimes right outside your window.

Like this old boy, for example.

He was either (a) an alien, confused and disorientated, just landed from a far-off planet from which he was  sent to gather data about the mysterious human race (like Mork, for example. Or John Lithgow when he was in Third Rock from the Sun), or (b) very, very drunk. Bemused, I watched as he stared at his feet for a while, raindrops pelting down on him and bouncing off his sodden clothes. I look at that picture and the only word that comes to mind is drookit.

It was unclear to me why he took off his coat and hung it on a light. To be honest, I was a little distracted by the fact that he then approached the round plastic thing at the end of a drainpipe (I don’t think I’ve ever had occasion to refer to one of those before, and I find myself at a loss for an appropriate noun), contemplated it for a long moment, stooped down, removed it, and then drank all the rainwater from it!!! By the time I came to my senses and grabbed a camera he had reverted to the original Father Jack-esque Are those MY feet? stance, so I’m afraid you’re just going to have to take my word for it.

Suitably refreshed and impossibly drookit, he walked very slowly and deliberately out of sight, possibly to purchase a new coat and/or call Orson.

Never a dull moment.

5 thoughts on “What a difference a day makes.

  1. An Istonian ‘thanks for the rain’ custom perhaps? Or… no… I’ll leave it there. Its too confusing!

    P.S. Don’t you have any ‘after sun’ lotion? No call for it in the Netherlands these days…. (wind, rain, hailstones).

  2. McBouncy says:

    The guy was drunk, and knew the best cure for a hangover is to drink loads of water…

    Why are you at the far end of the world and not next door? I am trying to write a thank you note and need HELP!!!

  3. Being Ballymena-ish, and having also been in Eeklandia, I can verify it does rain in both places. In fact, I was assured that way out East was fine and warm, yet stepping off the plane there was rain.

    (Similarly, we have the lowest rainfall in the UK what where I am, but anytime anyone from Oirishland visits, it invariably rains. We must take the weather, the weather with us.)

  4. Geri – If it is indeed a rain-related custom, I fear I’ll have to risk the wrath of the locals by steadfastly refusing to participate!
    HB – Tell him he forgot his coat, then, will you? ;)
    McBouncy – Ah, yes, but I’m freelance now: you can hire me! Just send an email detailing the content of the thank you note, I’ll quote you for it (friends and family discounts apply, of course), and it’ll be with you within 24 hours. Pleasure to be of service. I’ll send you a business card. :)
    Stray – Since the current temperature in my next destination (France, the south of) is 27°C, I’d imagine that the locals will be less than amused when I show up, then, with Irish weather in tow…

Leave a Reply

