Come and give me your hand…

Dudes. I fear I’m, like, regressing to my Hippie years.

I really hope I’m not becoming one of those characters who go travelling in a depressing attempt to ‘find’ themselves. I’m not lost. I’m right here, and I know who I am. Maybe it’s more a case of my gradual realisation of how much more there is for me to learn about the world, mixed with my glee and enthusiasm at finally having broken out of my self-imposed boredom.

Whatever the reason, I find myself increasingly filled with a desire to dance when I listen to my current favourite song – New Soul by Yael Naim. Not only is it refreshing to hear a song that doesn’t feel the need to be about love, angst, heartbreak and yearning, but the song’s lilting, joyful melody just bubbles over with excitement and, well… freedom.

I’m a new soul,
I came to this strange world,
Hoping I could learn a bit ’bout how to give and take.
But since I came here, felt the joy and the fear,
Finding myself making every possible mistake…

While not overlooking the potential for mistakes, problems, difficulties and pain, it paints a beautiful picture of life as a journey of discovery and – wait for it – fun!

Fun. Throwing caution to the wind, dancing with wild abandon, digging holes on the beach, hopping on a plane to a strange land, standing in the middle of a cheering crowd at a festival, hanging out with friends, embracing the unexpected, laughing until your tummy hurts, lurching unsteadily on a shuddering tram, delighting in the unusual, travelling light, trying things like wild boar and roasted elk, and watching the sun rise over the sea.

The song’s video captures its spirit, and I’ve watched it over and over again. I never tire of seeing the girl’s fleeting glimpses of the fun and excitement that lurks just outside the walls of her confined space, where she spends so much time trying to paint a true picture of the outside world. I love the moment when she suddenly realises that she can push down the walls, and finds herself out in the open, with the world at her feet. The pause in the music as she gazes around in awe is followed by smiling, exuberant dancing, clapping, splashing, singing, laughing and pure joy as she celebrates her freedom.

Erm. Don’t know where all that came from. I could’ve just said, “Here, watch this video, it’s class!” and left it at that, but that wouldn’t really be me, now, would it?

4 thoughts on “Come and give me your hand…

  1. You could be right. It’s hard to break the habit. I can’t even watch TV any more without giving an advert ratings out of 5 for entertainment and instructional value!

  2. Brilliant! Brilliant post (I especially liked your definition of fun) and brillinat song and video. I heard this on an ad but can’t remember which one.

  3. Thanks Hannah! I got this very nice comment in the midst of a lot of stress, and it reminded me about the whole “joy and fear” thing, and “embracing the unexpected”… nice timing. ;)

Leave a Reply

