Pour *moi*?!

It’s awards season again, and the Arte y Pico Award is passing happily from blogger to blogger, bringing smiles to faces and causing people (OK, me) the usual difficulties with trying to insert pictures into blog posts when you’re someone hated by computers. English Mum kindly gave a nod to yours truly:

“Originally from Northern Ireland, Hails is currently on a one-woman mission to circumnavigate the globe, and the stories of her travels are really informative and often laugh-out-loud funny.  She’s relentlessly optimistic and incredibly versatile (managing not to starve to death even after being pickpocketed of all her worldly cash in Lyon).  A great blog.”

I love the “originally from Northern Ireland” part. Having had occasion to fill in several forms this week, it gave me a silly little thrill of pleasure to write “France” next to “country of residence”.

That’s not to mention the thrill of being acknowledged by a blogger whose writing you’ve admired since you first discovered this whole blogging caper. Thank you, EM!

Of course, nothing’s free in this day and age, and I must now follow through with the rules:

  1. Pick five blogs that you consider deserve the award for their creativity, design, interesting material, and also for contributing to the blogging community, no matter what language.
  2. Each award has to have the name of the author and also a link to his or her blog to be visited by everyone.
  3. Each award winner has to show the award and put the name and link to the blog that has given her or him the award itself.
  4. The award winner and the one who has given the prize have to show the link of the Arte y Pico blog, so everyone will know the origin of this award.

I like this idea. Sometimes I get a bit lazy with my reading material, and limit myself to the same blogs. All of which are fantastic, of course, but when I do go exploring I’m always reminded of how many other great blogs there are out there, if I could just remember to have a look. Things like this are a good way of recommending favourite reads to others – I very much enjoyed following the links given by English Mum, after reading her descriptions. So. My turn!

My first round of applause goes to Geri Atric at Ageing Ungracefully. Read this blog! She describes herself as “an optimistic senior citizen lady Brit. living amongst the Dutch”, and I regularly find myself laughing out loud at her clever-but-confused-sounding posts. Her first post, only a few months ago, was about, erm, buying condoms – it made me laugh until I cried. A very funny and entertaining blog.

Up second, Croque-Camille. I’m not normally one for reading food/recipe blogs, but I love this one. Camille is an expat pastry chef living in Paris, and her recipes are written in a fun, easy-to-follow style, with a sprinkling of anecdotes about her life in France, and pictures of the finished dishes – which, quite simply, make me want to go and live with her. This blog is classy, fun, and just plain mouthwatering…

Grannymar! As if she needs another award. ;) This lady is very dear to my heart, as someone who comments regularly on a vast number of blogs and is always there with a word of encouragement when you need it. She faithfully provides photos, recipes, funny tales, touching stories, and plenty of memes to do when you’re avoiding work. It’s a wonder one of those toyboys hasn’t swept her off her feet yet..

Next up, Jo at Please Don’t Eat With Your Mouth Open, whose blog name reflects her desire to post regular rants about things that annoy her. This girl doesn’t know me – I am a lurker on her blog, and I hope she doesn’t get scared at this acknowledgement from a complete stranger. I think I discovered her blog when I was searching for train information, and found myself reading a full-on rant about the London Underground. I loved it, so I kept going back. She’s kind of like a cross between Bridget Jones and, well… me!

And finally, The Blawg, or Dave’s Blawg, or whatever he’s calling it these days. The guy’s trying to rival Prince, as far as name changes go. No, wait! It’s actually d@\/ e’s bl@\/\/g. Anyway, his contribution to the blogging community is immense, what with his regular links to interesting posts, his own posts on a wide range of subjects, his management of the Northern Irish Bloggers webring, and his friendly comments and advice as responses to blog posts. Sorry to throw you in with a bunch o’ weemin, Dave. Hope that’s OK. ;)

So, if anyone wants to accept their award, then they in turn must provide us with five good links. I need to broaden my blog-reading horizons. Impress me!

9 thoughts on “Pour *moi*?!

  1. E1 says:

    Hayley! I honestly haven’t read your post yet, but wanted to tell you I miss you tons and wish you were going to be in Ballymena with me, but am so glad you are enjoying France and traveling the world. France has the best biscuits called “le petite coeurs” – they come in a little yellow box and melt in your mouth.

  2. Wow, thanks! I feel so honored! now I’m going to spend the weekend considering who to pass the award on to. (Pardon the atrocious double dangling participle. I had a couple glasses of delicious French wine at dinner.) If givebacks were allowed, I’d definitely pick this blog! (My criteria being which ones do I go straight for when my Google Reader is backed up, like now – Coffee Helps is always entertaining!)

    Anyway, thanks again, and if you’re ever in Paris, I officially extend an invitation to dinner!

  3. You mean I have to work!!!!

    Thanks Hails for all the sweet things you said about me.. My head is so swelled it refuses to go through any doorway ;).

    I am travelling with you while making Roman Blinds and curtains for Elly.

    Hold onto your purse…!

  4. E1 – I’ll keep an eye out for them, now that I have money again!
    Croquecamille – You’re welcome – and thank you for the kind words, comments like that mean a lot! Encouragement and compliments always nice. :) I look forward to reading your recommendations…
    Grannymar – no more purses for me! It’s pockets all the way from now on.

  5. Thanks for the applause Hails, this is a very nice surprise!
    Your blog has become part of my day. After grabbing a cup of the liquid variety I always peep into Coffee Helps to see what scrape (or not) young Hails has got herself into!
    Take care of yourself (and your new purse) and don’t let those fast talking French get you down!

  6. Jo says:

    Oh hellooooo – thanks for the blog love token, it’s always nice to know that someone out there is just quietly reading and dare i say it, agreeing with me…

    Merci buckets!

Leave a Reply

