101 Things, 1001 Days

I’m quite into lists. It’s the only way I can get anything done, to be honest.

And now I’ve discovered the ultimate list: 101 Things To Do In 1001 Days. This has been around online for a while, it seems, but I just stumbled across it by accident the other night, and I loved the idea so much that I decided I had to give it a try. It’s basically a way to motivate yourself to get up off your backside and, well, do stuff. From trivial little things like eating a piece of fruit every day for a week or appreciating a beautiful sunrise, to huge things like travelling by train right across Europe or abseiling down the Eiffel Tower, the 101 list project gives you the chance to really think about how you want your life to be, what you’d really like to be doing, and how you can make those things happen.

From there, you just make your list! Items have to be worded specifically and avoid ambiguity (i.e. “give €5 to a homeless person” instead of “be more generous”), so that you can tick it off neatly and know that you’ve done it.

1001 days is just over two and a half years. And it just so happens that when I used this handy little tool here to calculate my “finish” date, I discovered that my target is to have my 101 Things accomplished by just a few days before my 30th birthday. That works out pretty well, as now it’s also become a Things To Do Before I’m Thirty sort of list, too. I am studiously ignoring the fact that this is the first time I have thought about being thirty in a “near future” way rather than with a careless “thirty is miiiiiiiles away!” attitude.

I’m full of enthusiasm and quite excited about making some of these things happen – particularly as I’ve only quite recently realised that the possibilities are endless. If I want to leave home and travel Europe and be a writer, I can do it! Which means I can’t just stop there. There’s lots more to do, plenty more to see. I want to be healthier, more confident, energetic. I want to experience more new cultures, learn more, improve my mind. I want to be a positive influence on the people around me. I want fun and laughter and good conversation. I want to cram as much into my life as I possibly can!

So I’ve made a list. Click on this link to see it, or on the new tab at the top of the page. I daresay I’ll be blogging about many of the “Things” as I do them, but I will be keeping a record on my 101 Things page, ticking off each completed action and recording the dates. Then, on my thirtieth birthday, I can look at the page and say, “Not bad, Hails! You may have lazed around doing nothing for most of your life, but you made up for it before you turned thirty. Relax and have some wine.” before going off to buy my rocking chair and cardigans in preparation for my elderly life as Crazy Cat Lady.

One more thing. The list, as it stands, only goes to 100. Finding the last one is incredibly difficult, for some reason. So as I have done in the past when seeking inspiration, I’m throwing this one out to my readers. Give me some suggestions! I’ll pick one, I promise. It can be anything at all, although bear in mind that I have a limited budget. A tiny little thing, or an unforgettable experience, it’s up to you. What can you come up with for me?

101 things to do, 1001 days in which to do them. Challenge accepted. And the clock starts… now!

6 thoughts on “101 Things, 1001 Days

  1. k8 says:

    Good on you, missuz. That’s a great idea for blogging as well as life!

    Random idea; paint over some graffiti you hate? I’d love to do that but can never get around to making time! ‘Debbie is a whore slut’ is written on the wall of SuperValu in my local town. Whenever I pass it I feel sorry for Debbie, poor cow probably doesn’t deserve it.

    Maybe you could write a letter to an old penpal from childhood? I’d love to do that, if only I could find my keepsake box with all the addresses!

    Write a comic strip, inventing your own character?

    What’s on your list already? Go on… I’m dying to know!!!

  2. Ah, K8, did you miss the link in the post? :) Click on the “101 Things” tab at the top of the page to read the list!

    I like the idea of writing to a childhood penpal! That’s a contender…

    There have been some good suggestions so far – more, anyone?

Leave a Reply

