Big, big world

Well, what a productive few days I’ve had!

Making a list really works for me. I’m mad about the satisfied feeling that comes from Getting Things Done, and I now have a huge, long list of Things. I can tick them off, one by one – but of course, I have to do them first. And so I’ve been hard at work following yesterday’s post, starting on various challenges in order to improve body, mind and soul. I won’t bore you with exciting updates on how many pieces of fruit I’ve eaten, but you can expect me to be writing about some of the quirkier, fun, or more interesting things that I end up doing because of The List.

For example, you’ll notice two new RSS feeds for two new blogs on the sidebar. Click on one, and it will take you to “It Just Makes Me Happy” – this is where I’ll be keeping a record of one thing each day that brings me happiness, as per item no. 4 on The List. Click on the other, and you’ll discover “You Say Goodbye, I Say…” – this is where I’ll be recording my attempts to learn how to say hello in 50 different languages, as per no. 61 on The List. I’ve also been very busy filing articles and writing sales pitches in order to fulfil some of the “Work” goals. It’s all go around here.

I’ve also commenced my earnest attempt to beat Ed improve my geography knowledge on the Traveler IQ Challenge. I only recently discovered this Facebook application, and it’s horribly addictive. I should probably confess that when I left Norn Iron, I didn’t know where anywhere was. I mean that almost literally. I knew the approximate layout of the world map as a vast, mostly nameless expanse; I could locate and identify the British Isles; I knew that Spain and France were down below us and that Germany was over to the right a bit; I knew that America was away over on the left and Australia was down at the bottom right. That was about it.

Obviously, travelling around and planning flights and train journeys forced me to pay a bit more attention to the general set-up. It took the Traveler IQ Europe Challenge, however, to force me into actively studying a map and learning where everything is. I can now label every European country and capital city (along with lots of other cities, landmarks etc.) on a blank map. I know that this is nothing to be especially proud of – I am simply pointing out that I now have the basic level of knowledge about my home continent that I should probably have had as a youngster, had I paid attention in geography lessons.

Unfortunately, having now started the World Challenge, I have realised to my dismay that Europe is actually very very small. Teensy, in fact. The world keeps getting bigger and bigger in my mind, and I have only just realised how big Russia is, and how far away Japan is, and that New Zealand and Australia are really not all that close together. Yes, the studying has begun all over again. I do enjoy it, I must admit, although there are moments when I feel like throwing the laptop through the window:

29999

I mean, for crying out loud!!!

And so all this learning and working and playing and action will be going on in the background from now on. Whilst some of it may cause me to be very busy and hard at work, lots of it will provide me with great new blog material, one would imagine. And that can only be a good thing, right?!

8 thoughts on “Big, big world

  1. I agree, I do think that practicing your geography is a good thing. I’m glad our game helped you appreciate our great big beautiful planet a little bit more than you did before.

    Louise Brown
    TravelPod Community Manager

  2. Elly – I can’t just sit down to play it for half an hour. Once I start, I’ve lost the whole evening.
    Louise – Wow, thanks for stopping by and commenting! And for the education that the game has given me. I am very grateful! :)
    Ed – Heheh. Well, it’ll be a while before I catch you on the World one, but at least I reached my 500,000 target…

  3. Вообще, откровенно говоря, комментарии тут гораздо интереснейсамих постов. (Не в обиду автору, конечно :))

Leave a Reply

