Monday

I used to hate Mondays.

I hated them when I was at school, because I loved being at home with my family over the weekend, and lazing around, and going out with my friends, and having fun. I hated having to get up early and go to school, knowing that the whole long week was stretching ahead, seemingly endlessly, filled with double PE, and geography, and physics, and chemistry, which were the most horrible things in the world to me. I hated the routine and the boringness of it all. No matter how many parts of school life I did enjoy, I never once got up on a Monday morning looking forward to the day ahead.

I hated them when I was at work, too, because I was never able to find a job that was right for me. Nine to five at a desk bored me to tears. Some mornings, it was all I could do to drag myself out of bed and into my car, in the knowledge that I had to do this five times before it would be the weekend again. No other day was as difficult as Monday.

And recently? Mondays have been no different from any other day. I worked when it suited me, and I went out when it suited me, and I relaxed when it suited me. If I wanted to sit up writing half the night and then lie in bed until noon on Monday, I could. It was great. I was free from the Monday Curse at last!

But now I’m back in NI, and I’m having to reassess everything. If I’m going to get back out on the road and continue with the freelancing, travelling, nomadic lifestyle that suits me so well, I’m going to have to get some more cash saved up, and come up with a more reliable way of getting regular work, rather than just hoping for housesitting assignments and the like to come my way. I’m going to have to come up with a Plan.

And that means I’m going to have to be disciplined and organised. So, I’ve had my weekend of recovery and of crying on a friend’s shoulder (thanks, Becs!), and now it’s time to stop looking back and start looking forward. I need a job. I need a plan. I need to work out what I’m doing and where I’m going next.  I need to figure out how to do that in a way that won’t end with me sitting in a hostel counting my change to see if I can afford to eat. Oh – and I need to resolve the messy Break-Up angst and talk things through in a mature way that will leave both of us feeling better and – hopefully, eventually – friends.

I could very easily fall into the trap of lying around in my pyjamas all day, chain-smoking and crying and feeling hopeless. But I’m not going to do that – not now that I know what an exciting array of opportunities and lifestyles there are out there for me to explore.

The weekend’s over. Tomorrow is Monday. And I’ll be getting up like the rest of you, and starting that next chapter.

Put the coffee on, someone.

9 thoughts on “Monday

  1. Choose a pen name, the surname ending in either B,C or D .Then start writing your best seller, in between telling us about your adventures throughout the world.

  2. Nelly – There are still a lot of ups and downs to work through, but I’ll persevere!
    Nicola – I can’t afford to get stuck!
    d@ve – oh boy, the bestseller. I guess now would be as good a time as any to get on with it…
    Erin – I think it’s safe to say I won’t have gathered up a couple of grand by then, so yeah, it’s likely I’ll be here!
    Grannymar – Yeah, I just wish I was better at this whole planning thing, that’s all!
    K8 – Ta. It’s a start, I s’pose…
    Will – Hey!!! And yes, most likely. Although obviously I’m not still living where I was, but I’m sure I’ll manage to hook up with you all while you’re here! :)

Leave a Reply

