Let It Go?

I can’t sleep.

It’s after 2am now, and still I’m lying here wide awake, staring at the darkness, listening to the silence.

It won’t leave my mind, won’t give me peace, and I am powerless. At the mercy of my own thoughts, tormented by my own mind.

When I feel hard done by, or wronged in some way, it’s a huge struggle to let it go. My mind plays it over and over and demands a different outcome, despite knowing that it is done, it is finished, and no amount of replaying it will change the result.

And so I lie here, wide awake. Tired but sleepless. Wishing it had gone differently.

Life is a journey, full of ups and downs, twists and turns, lessons to be learned.

And even though I know that “long time no see” is a much cleverer answer to the dingbat “ENTURY” than my own response, I still feel that “end of the century” is a perfectly acceptable one.

Don’t get me wrong, though: we would still have lost that table quiz. ;)

5 thoughts on “Let It Go?

  1. K8 says:

    I would’ve said ‘end of the century’ too… seems like a catchphrase brainteaser! Even google has problems with that word.

    That must have been a beaut of a tablequiz!

  2. Joel says:

    Alright… End of the century *does* make perfect sense. Maybe I should’ve given you half a point…

    But I refuse to give any to “No Entury”.

  3. K8 – It would have been easier if there had been a wider selection of people on the team rather than three very last-minute girls who all have pretty similar fields of knowledge!

    Joel – I accept my extra half a point. Please adjust the official records. :)

    bevchen – it was one of those awful “groannnnnnn” moments when the answer was read out. And we were all so confident…

    Billy – or Cookie Dough instead of Baked Alaska…

Leave a Reply

