No sweat

Today was Bring Your Dad To School Day.

This was very exciting and great fun – for the kids, I mean. For the teachers, it was nerve-wracking, exhausting, and completely underpaid. I had to do eight Musical classes in a row. Eight! My usual maximum number of Musical classes in one day is four, and I’m good for nothing after that. You can imagine how I’m feeling now.

It wouldn’t have been so bad if the dads were just sitting in on a regular English lesson or something. Or if I could only have done a non-aerobic subject like Cooking or Science (Terri and Alex). But no… I have the subject that involves lots of activity and repeated dance routines. In this weather (oppressively hot, humid, and sticky), it was a killer. By the end of the first half, when I’d done four classes and performed dance routines 16 times, I was practically dehydrated. I saw Jennifer and a Korean teacher exchanging a strange Look, and Jennifer sidled over to me. Your clothes are wet, she said in a horrified whisper. I stared blankly at her, lowering the two-litre bottle of water I’d been downing. Um, yes… I said slowly. I’ve been working out for 2 hours without a break. It’s sweat.

I said it in a very matter-of-fact way, and she looked so confused that I’ve had to come to the conclusion that Koreans don’t sweat. I’m half tempted to go to a gym just to watch people working out and see if they remain cool and dry. Anyway, so shameful was it for a teacher to be perspiring after jumping all around the gym for two hours, that I was ushered into the office and made to stand beside the fan in order to dry off.

Seriously, what?!

Oh, whatever. I’m off to enjoy what’s left of my sabotaged weekend – by which I mean I’m off to collapse in a weary heap under my air conditioning and beside my fan, and not move until Monday morning…

One thought on “No sweat

Leave a Reply

