The Power of Jetlag

I’m using jetlag to my advantage, this time around, as fortunately it’s not too bad and is merely causing me to fall asleep early at night and wake up very early in the morning.

Let’s face it, being alert in the morning is something I have dreamed of since I was a teenager, so I’m trying my best to make a habit of morning productivity before the time zone confusion wears off and I’m back to hitting snooze 10 times and then stumbling around grumpily for a while trying to locate the bathroom door. This morning, when I found myself wide awake at 5.30am, I lay there for half an hour trying to get back to sleep. Then I asked myself why I needed to go back to sleep when I was no longer tired. I could not provide a reasonable answer, so up I got at 6am.

6AM!!!!

I spent 10 minutes searching for my Wii Fit disk, and another 5 looking for new batteries for the controller. And then, ladies and gentlemen, I did the following things:

– a full aerobic workout including stretches, hula hooping, boxing, step aerobics, and jogging

– showered and dressed

– walked 15 minutes to the nearest open shop

– returned and made healthy breakfast involving eggs and orange juice and yogurt

– completed 30 minute Korean lesson

– washed dishes

– went to work

This is some kind of record. It is mad. It is unheard of. It is, quite simply, marvellous!! Perhaps I will have collapsed in an exhausted heap by lunch time, but for now I feel great. And as superficial as this may sound, you can’t imagine how much better I feel about life in general now that I have a decent selection of clothes, now all neatly arranged in my wardrobe. It’s great to actually be able to pick out an outfit that’s not shapeless jeans and an old t-shirt, and feel good in it for the first time in years.

You look… um… stylish! said my boss when she greeted me excitedly on my first day back. No one is quite able to get over it. I’m not suddenly in fashion or anything, obviously, but apparently I look more presentable than they’re used to seeing me!

Exercise, healthy food, early rising, new clothes, and a crowd of children delighted to have me back: a good start to the week/year! :)

4 thoughts on “The Power of Jetlag

  1. Way to take advantage. I used to live in Sydney and when I returned to the states after 1 year I couldn’t sleep past 4 in the morning for over a month. I figured if I stayed in bed and tried to force myself to sleep I would adjust but this is the worst thing you can do. I think your body adjusts more naturally when you get up when you wake up.

  2. The Parents says:

    Exercised, washed dishes & hung up your clothes? I do not recognise this person. Has the aliens taken my daughter and replaced her with this other look-a-like?

Leave a Reply

