Super happy healthy miracle wonder noodles!

As I was browsing in my local store after work this evening, searching for new ideas for nice, healthy meals, I made the most incredible discovery.

Hiding away amongst the tofu and the ddeok were several little bags of noodles in water. I did a double take as I saw the calorie information at the bottom: 60 calories in 400g of noodles?! That couldn’t be right! A quick Google search directed me to an article about konnyaku – a “miracle” Japanese health food. Almost completely calorie-free, it’s a gelatinous substance commonly sold in slabs or blocks, much like tofu is. It is also, however, available in noodle form. These noodles seem to be a little higher in calories than the “5kcals per 100g” kind I’ve been reading about, but still… compared to spaghetti and noodles, they’re floaty light!

I grabbed a packet of these magical creations, and went home to rustle up some dinner. I stir-fried lots and lots of fresh vegetables, threw in a few chopped crab sticks, and stirred it all together with a packet of powdered clam chowder, water, mixed herbs, and red pepper flakes. Then I just chucked in the noodles and let it all simmer while I suffered some more at the hands of Jillian Michaels. By the time I got out of the shower, I was able to dish up a spicy, tasty noodle dish, and eat my fill of it without feeling guilty.

There’s still well over half of it left for tomorrow’s dinner, and I feel like I’ve just had one of my favourite meals (I reallllly love my spaghetti and noodles!) without it hindering my weight loss efforts. Result!

Gotta love the Japanese…

One thought on “Super happy healthy miracle wonder noodles!

Leave a Reply

