A week of trying new things…

As I mentioned in a recent post, I am feeling pretty good about life right now.

This is true even today, when I sit here in a whole new world of pain thanks to my cheerful, chirpy, fitness freak friend and our latest training session after work yesterday. Do 300+ squats and then try to run around a track. I dare you. The only other time in my whole life that I can remember my knees ever buckling like that was when Take That came on to the stage in Belfast when I was 12. I genuinely nearly fell down the steps as I tried to stagger out of the park towards the subway, and had to stumble towards a taxi instead. I can’t feckin walk, I texted him a few hours later from where I lay groaning dolefully on a sofa at The Local. Haha, he replied sympathetically. 

Still, it’s all for the greater good. I may not be able to walk, and my muscles may be screaming out for mercy, but it’s worth it. As my earlier post said, I have so much energy and enthusiasm lately, and am feeling full of unprecedented confidence in – and happiness with – who I am. I am doing things I’ve never done before! The other night I sauntered up to a group of almost-strangers (you know… the ones you’ve seen around and maybe said hello to, but whose names you don’t know) at the GS and introduced myself. I ended up having a lot of fun and waking up to several new friend requests on Facebook. This may sound like quite a normal occurrence, to you; however, to me, it’s a groundbreaking event! A milestone in my life, if you will.

It just hit me that I am, for the first time in a long time, fully booked every night this week.

This is a far cry from how I was spending my time up until recently. I’d work, go home, eat rubbish, watch TV, go to sleep, repeat – mainly because I was tired and fed up. Now that I have energy, I am amazed at how much can actually fit into a day! A quick exercise session and shower after work, and I’m energised and ready to head back out the door instead of settle down for the night in my pajamas.

And so begins my week of trying new things. It wasn’t planned to be such a thing, but it’s just sort of panned out like that. I was in such a rut for such a long time that I convinced myself that there was nothing new or fun for me to do in Korea. Nonsense! There’s always something new to try, no matter where you are. It could be as drastic as a skydive (no, not yet, but I am in discussions with a friend who is trying to persuade me that it’s worth the money it would cost to accompany him when he does it!) or as simple as saying hello to a bunch of strangers, or mastering a new exercise move, or ordering something utterly bizarre for dinner (OK, that one was accidental, thanks to two very similarly-spelled Korean words, but still).

This week, I am doing things that I wouldn’t usually do – some insignificant, some that I confess scare me a little bit.

Life is short. Time to start packing it full of fun again!

2 thoughts on “A week of trying new things…

  1. Good on you girl! I said it before and I’ll say it again – you looked fabulous when I saw you last. But it wasn’t just because of how you looked, it was because of how you are. Hayley, you are an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

