A letter to my mother.

Dear Mum,

Sometimes – well, a lot of the time – I feel sort of guilty that you got me as a daughter. I hardly ever call, I’m not someone who often sends cards and presents, I’m not very thoughtful. I’m scatterbrained and forgetful. I never remember to ask about the little details in others’ lives. I don’t like “visiting”, and hate talking on the phone. I travel around and live on the other side of the planet instead of settling down like a normal person and being a good daughter.

I’m sorry!

But I never want you to think that me being the way I am means I don’t care. I think about you every day, even if you haven’t heard from me in weeks. I have a picture of you on my wall, and I often see or hear something that makes me think immediately of you.

And more than all that, I love you! I might be terrible at showing it, but I am really, truly thankful to have a mother like you.

Thank you for staying home and devoting all your time to raising us when we were small. I don’t think I ever realised how uncommon that was becoming, or how fortunate we were to have a mum who was always there to look after us.

Thank you for cooking good food that was varied, healthy, and tasty. I find it hard to make the time to plan meals for myself for the week, never mind a family of 4 for all those years!

Thank you for writing me a note from Santa getting Santa to write me a note on the typewriter “he” brought me for Christmas one year. I was so excited – I told everyone about it! It still makes me smile now when I remember how I felt when I saw it.

Thank you for never pushing me to get high grades, yet always being proud of me if I did. I never felt under pressure from you. I always felt trusted to do my best.

Thank you for always knowing what I wanted for my birthday.

Thank you for never fighting with Dad – or at least, for never fighting with him in front of us. ;) It never dawned on me, as a child, what a wonderful thing it was to grow up in a peaceful, loving household. I just took it for granted.

Thank you for giving me such a wide taste in music!

Thank you for being a mother who planned fun activities to do with her children, instead of just sitting us in front of the TV all day every day.

Thank you for encouraging me to go where I want and to follow my dreams, even when they probably seem a bit crazy.

Thank you for being my friend.

Thank you for teaching me by example: respect, kindness, politeness, truthfulness, love, and humour – lessons that can be learned from a good mother much more effectively than from a textbook.

Thank you for being the sort of mother that I could never, ever be, and for giving me a true, proper role model to try and live up to.

Thank you, Mum, for being my mother. I am grateful for you every day of my life.

Yet again, I am not there with you to celebrate your birthday. I can’t take you out for dinner, or clink glasses with you in a birthday toast. I’ll be there in a couple of weeks to personally deliver belated birthday hugs… and until then, I hope these words from the heart will make up for my not being with you.

I love you, Mum. Happy birthday!

Love,

Hayley

xoxo

Mum and me, 1982

Mum and me, 1982

Mum and me - more recently!

Mum and me – more recently!

5 thoughts on “A letter to my mother.

  1. The Parents says:

    Grannymar, you are not the only one with tears in your eyes! Hayley that was a lovely surprise to get when I got home from work. Really looking forward to seeing you again. Love you xxxx

  2. Mary Byrne Orr says:

    That was lovely Hayley. I wish I’d written a letter like that to my mum when I could. Happy birthday Carol, you have a wonderful daughter, but you know that.

Leave a Reply

